Sea of Thieves closed beta dates confirmed

Microsoft and Rare have confirmed when exactly select fans of their upcoming pirate-themed game Sea of Thieves will be able to participate in the game’s closed beta ahead of launch.

According to a press announcement from Microsoft, the Sea of Thieves closed beta will begin in the early hours of the morning on Wednesday, January 24 (4am PST/7am EST) and will conclude on Monday, January 29 (12am PST/3 am EST). The beta will only be available to those who joined the Sea of Thieves Insider Program before December 1, 2017 or who pre-ordered the game. Microsoft also confirmed that, even though it’s a closed beta, participants will be free to take screenshots, livestream, and publicly talk about the beta experience.

The full launch for Sea of Thieves is scheduled for March 20 at which point it will be available for both Windows 10 PC and Xbox One.